AlphaTauri is the name of the sister team of Red Bull Racing in Formula 1. Previously known as Toro Rosso, it changed its name in 2020. Besides the name, not much else has changed. In 2023, Yuki Tsunoda and Nyck de Vries will once again drive for the Italian-Austrian outfit from Faenza. Franz Tost is the team principal, and the drivers are determined by Red Bull consultant Helmut Marko.

Origin of AlphaTauri

Scuderia Toro Rosso made its debut as a satellite team in 2006. The Italian team emerged from Minardi, which never achieved a podium finish or became competitive in the sport. Red Bull owner Dietrich Mateschitz acquired the team and transformed it into a development team for Red Bull Racing. Since the takeover, the team has improved significantly. Sebastian Vettel elevated Toro Rosso to new heights, winning the 2008 Italian Grand Prix for the team. Currently, the Italian outfit continues to score points consistently. Max Verstappen rose to prominence with the team, and Daniel Ricciardo also drove for Toro Rosso for a while. In 2020, Daniil Kvyat and Pierre Gasly occupied the AlphaTauri seats.

The reason Toro Rosso chose the name AlphaTauri is because in 2016, Red Bull launched a clothing brand called AlphaTauri. With both Red Bull and Toro Rosso names in the sport, the Austrians were advertising the same product twice. To avoid this, the team will be known as Scuderia AlphaTauri from 2020 onwards. The team finished seventh in the 2020 constructors' championship. There was a period when AlphaTauri seemed capable of surpassing Ferrari in the standings, but they fell short by just 24 points. The team's strong points tally was partly thanks to a stellar season from Pierre Gasly.

Alphatauri News

Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments