Red Bull Racing

Red Bull Racing: Latest Formula 1 News and Updates

When it comes to Formula 1, you cannot overlook Red Bull Racing. The team of the famous energy drink manufacturer has secured four world titles so far with Sebastian Vettel in 2010, 2011, 2012, and 2013. In 2021, they added another world title with Max Verstappen. In 2022, Verstappen triumphed again, along with Red Bull Racing clinching their fifth constructor's championship. During the Vettel years, they also claimed the constructor's championship. Verstappen and Sergio Pérez continue as the drivers for Red Bull Racing in 2023, just as they did in the previous two years. Christian Horner serves as the team principal. Red Bull will be racing with the RB19 in 2023, utilizing their own in-house engines. The team took over the production of Honda engines after the Japanese brand exited Formula 1.

Founding of the Austrian Team

Red Bull Racing made its debut in the pinnacle of motorsport in 2005. Taking over the license from Jaguar Racing, which had to cease its Formula 1 activities due to the withdrawal of Ford as its sponsor. At the end of 2005, Dietrich Mateschitz, owner of the Red Bull conglomerate, also acquired the Minardi Formula 1 team. From 2006 onwards, this team was renamed Scuderia Toro Rosso, which means 'Team Red Bull' in Italian. Toro Rosso is often used as a training ground for the main Red Bull Racing team. In 2005, David Coulthard and Christian Klien raced for Red Bull. For the following year, the team retained the same line-up, but Dutchman Robert Doornbos replaced Klien in the last three races of that season. However, Doornbos was soon replaced in 2007, making way for Mark Webber. Between 2005 and 2008, Red Bull Racing established itself in the midfield, occasionally achieving podium finishes.


Max Verstappen and David Coulthard. Coulthard raced for Red Bull Racing between 2005 and 2008.

Top Seasons with Vettel

After sister team Toro Rosso outperformed Red Bull Racing in 2008, the alarm bells rang. Adrian Newey built an exceptional car for 2009, propelling the team to the top. With the talented driver Sebastian Vettel on board, the Austrian team secured its first victory in China that year. It proved to be a stepping stone to years of success. In 2009, Vettel narrowly missed the title, but in 2010, the German driver was on fire. Despite technical issues in the first two races that prevented Vettel from winning (despite leading both races), the team and Vettel fought back fiercely, delivering strong performances with wins and podium finishes towards the end of the season. In the final race in Abu Dhabi, Vettel remained flawless and clinched his and Red Bull's first world title.

In the following three seasons, Vettel and Red Bull Racing continued their dominance. In 2011, 2012, and 2013, all the championships went to the German driver and his team. The 2014 season proved more challenging, partly due to the switch from V8 engines to hybrid V6 power units. Vettel failed to win a race and was outperformed by his new teammate, Daniel Ricciardo, who secured three victories. Vettel moved to Ferrari for 2015, and Red Bull replaced him with Daniil Kvyat. Ultimately, the team failed to secure a race win in 2015

Verstappen secures another F1 world title for Red Bull

The arrival of Max Verstappen in 2016 brought great fortune to the team. The Dutch driver managed to become champion two years in a row, in 2021 and 2022. He achieved this feat in a magnificent fashion, overtaking Lewis Hamilton in the final lap of the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix in 2021. A year later, Verstappen was even more dominant, clinching the championship with four races remaining at Japan's Honda-owned home circuit.

Red Bull Racing News

Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments