Formula E

The Formula E is a motorsport category in which only electric cars are used. It is the only motorsport class established by the FIA that exclusively runs on electricity. The idea to create this class emerged in 2012, and the concept quickly took shape. In 2013, the organization released some teasers, and the first season officially began in 2014.

In 2012, 42 cars were ordered with components from various car manufacturers. McLaren, Renault, and Williams all contributed to the establishment of the championship. After a successful testing period the following year, it was decided to proceed definitively with the plan. One of the conditions for setting up the new class was that all races would be held on street circuits. This would make the sport more spectacular, and the ePrix in major cities would be accompanied by sustainability-focused conferences.

What are the characteristics of Formula E?

 In Formula E, twelve teams participate, each with two drivers. This means there are a total of twenty-four drivers on the street circuits. The races, called ePrix, are held in twelve cities around the world. The circuits used have a length of approximately 2.5 to 3 kilometers, which is considerably smaller than typical Formula 1 circuits.

In 2.8 seconds, the Formula E cars can reach a speed of 100 kilometers per hour. With full power, a Formula E car can reach speeds of up to 280 kilometers per hour. In Formula 1, the maximum speed (with DRS) is around 330 kilometers per hour. Formula E cars produce relatively low noise. With 80 decibels, the noise is comparable to that of a small bus.

Overview of Formula E Drivers 2020

Andretti Motorsport

27. Alexander Sims

28. Maximilian Gunther

Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler

11. Lucas di Grassi

66. Daniel Abt

Nissan e.Dams

22. Oliver Rowland

23. Sébastien Buemi

Dragon Racing

6. Brendon Hartley

7. Nico Müller

Jaguar Racing

20. Mitch Evans

51. James Calado

Mahindra Racing

64. Jérôme d'Ambrosio

94. Pascal Wehrlein

Mercedes Benz EQ

5. Stoffel Vandoorne

17. Nyck de Vries

NIO 333

3. Oliver Turvey

33. Ma Qing Hua


18. Neel Jani

36. Andre Lotterer

DS Techeetah

13. Antonio Felix da Costa

25. Jean-Eric Vergne


19. Felipe Massa

48. Edoardo Mortara

Virgin Racing

2. Sam Bird

4. Robin Frijns

Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments