McLaren is a British Formula 1 team, founded by Bruce McLaren in 1966. Since then, the team has achieved tremendous success, especially in the 1980s, and has been a frontrunner for many years. Starting from the 2021 season, the team uses Mercedes engines and is led by Andreas Seidl as team principal and Zak Brown as CEO. Lando Norris and Oscar Piastri drive for the British team in 2023.

Early Years of McLaren in Formula 1

Bruce McLaren embarked on the Formula 1 adventure of the legendary team in 1966. Since then, McLaren has been a constant presence in Formula 1. McLaren achieved its first victory in 1968 when Bruce himself won the Belgian Grand Prix. Denny Hulme, his teammate that year, also won the Italian Grand Prix and later the race in Canada. McLaren finished second in the championship that year. The team's first world championship came in 1974, followed by seven more.


Bruce McLaren in the McLaren M7A at the Nürburgring in 1969. (Photo: Lothar Spurzem)

The most successful period for McLaren in Formula 1 was between 1984 and 1993. During that time, the team won the constructors' championship six times and finished second four times. Drivers such as Niki Lauda, Alain Prost, and Ayrton Senna raced for the British team. After the championship in 1991, the team had to wait until 1998 for another title, with David Coulthard and Mika Häkkinen leading the way. That year was also the last time the team finished first in the standings. Since 1998, McLaren's best result has been a second-place finish, most recently achieved in 2011.

Mclaren News

Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments